California Needs Some of YOUR Time

August 24, 2010

California Needs Some of YOUR Time to protect YOUR rights.  "SB 250 will prohibit keeping unaltered and unspayed dogs and cats over 6 months old without a specific local license, except as specified."  We've been sold a bill of goods when it comes to early spay/neuter; told it's just fine and dandy to do this as early as 4 months of age.  Let me make this as simple as possible.  It is NOT fine and it is NOT dandy!

Up until 1870, it was legal to castrate human boys to create the beautiful singing voices of castrati.  These voices were incredible and they came at an incredible price.  Castration of male mammals before puberty, before full development, causes BIG problems.  "As the castrato's body grew, his lack of testosterone meant that his epiphyses (bone-joints) did not harden in the normal manner. Thus the limbs of the castrati often grew unusually long, as did the bones of their ribs."  And those bones are more fragile.  Castration screws up the endocrine system as does hysterectomy of females.  We now know that screwing with the endocrine system can cause all kinds of endocrine diseases in humans and that it's also implicated in autoimmunity disorders.

I can look at the 2 Labradors at my feet and see the issues.  I have a 9 year old who was spayed at 6 months.   Her hips did not fully develop, her legs are beginning to bow, and I know she will die early (probably painfully) and it's my fault for buying into the early S/N crap.  The 3 year old bitch who is not yet spayed has wide, sturdy hips and legs.  I doubt she had nearly the tender care, food, and vet care in her early life as my older girl and yet she is noticeably, VERY noticeably, healthier than my older girl was at the same age.

That early spay/neuter in dogs/cats is safe and effective is a LIE, a big fat LIE.  It is effective at stopping reproduction.  It is not at all "safe" for the long term health of dogs/cats.  It WILL take months to years off their lifespan.  It WILL cause them to be immature physically AND mentally.  It WILL cause them health problems that they would not have if spay/neuter were delayed until after full maturity is reached.

Whether to spay/neuter and, if so, WHEN to do so is a HEALTH decision that should be made by an informed owner on the advice of a veterinarian and without some AR agenda to keep pet animals in a child like state at the risk of their long term health.  And, IF you decide spay/neuter is appropriate for your pet, you should damn sure find out what you're consenting to.  It is NOT necessary to remove organs to stop reproduction.  Vasectomies and "tube tying" are possible.  Your big boy CAN keep his balls and his hormones!  Does your female have to be gutted to appease your vet because it's fast and efficient?  Did you even realize they were taking her ovaries as well as her uterus (and maybe a few other items in the vicinity)?  Did your vet tell you that some of those organs can (and on rare occasions DO) grow back?

The ARs say we are "guardians".  Can you imagine a "guardian" advising a child of 9 be castrated or subjected to an ovario-hysterectomy regardless of the long term consequences?  Don't even speak to me of "animal rights" while promoting the premature and summary amputation of body parts necessary for growth and maturity and long term health!  The California ARs are on the S/N rampage again and, as we know, these things often start in California and SPREAD our way like a wave.  Let's help stop the wave before it starts.

Below is the list of people who need to be told to vote NO on California SB 250.  Phone, fax, and email them as many times as you can and recruit your friends to do the same please.  If you can, please use this picture in your emails/faxes.

Here are the phone and fax numbers (reprinted with email addresses on the new California Roster page):

CALIFORNIA ASSEMBLY ROSTER

  

 

 

 

 

Assembly Member

Party

District

Phone

Fax

Email

 

 

 

 

 

 

Adams, Anthony

R

59

(916) 319-2059

(916) 319-2159

Assemblymember.Adams@assembly.ca.gov

Ammiano, Tom

D

13

(916) 319-2013

(916) 319-2113

Assemblymember.Ammiano@assembly.ca.gov

Anderson, Joel

R

77

(916) 319-2077

(916) 319-2177

Assemblymember.Anderson@assembly.ca.gov

Arambula, Juan

D

31

(916) 319-2031

(916) 319-2131

Assemblymember.Arambula@assembly.ca.gov

Bass, Karen

D

47

(916) 319-2047

(916) 319-2147

Assemblymember.Bass@assembly.ca.gov

Beall, Jim Jr.

D

24

(916) 319-2024

(916) 319-2124

Assemblymember.Beall@assembly.ca.gov

Berryhill, Bill

R

26

(916) 319-2026

(916) 319-2126

Assemblymember.Bill.Berryhill@assembly.ca.gov

Berryhill, Tom

R

25

(916) 319-2025

(916) 319-2125

Assemblymember.Tom.Berryhill@assembly.ca.gov

Blakeslee, Sam

R

33

(916) 319-2033

(916) 319-2133

Assemblymember.Blakeslee@assembly.ca.gov

Block, Marty

D

78

(916) 319-2078

(916) 319-2178

Assemblymember.Block@assembly.ca.gov

Blumenfield, Bob

D

40

(916) 319-2040

(916) 319-2140

Assemblymember.Blumenfield@assembly.ca.gov

Bradford, Steven

D

51

(916) 319-2051

(916) 319-2151

Assemblymember.Bradford@assembly.ca.gov

Brownley, Julia

D

41

(916) 319-2041

(916) 319-2141

Assemblymember.Brownley@assembly.ca.gov

Buchanan, Joan

D

15

(916) 319-2015

(916) 319-2115

Assemblymember.Buchanan@assembly.ca.gov

Caballero, Anna M.

D

28

(916) 319-2028

(916) 319-2128

Assemblymember.Caballero@assembly.ca.gov

Calderon, Charles M.

D

58

(916) 319-2058

(916) 319-2158

Assemblymember.Calderon@assembly.ca.gov

Carter, Wilmer Amina

D

62

(916) 319-2062

(916) 319-2162

Assemblymember.Carter@assembly.ca.gov

Chesbro, Wesley

D

1

(916) 319-2001

(916) 319-2101

Assemblymember.Chesbro@assembly.ca.gov

Conway, Connie

R

34

(916) 319-2034

(916) 319-2134

Assemblymember.Conway@assembly.ca.gov

Cook, Paul

R

65

(916) 319-2065

(916) 319-2165

Assemblymember.Cook@assembly.ca.gov

Coto, Joe

D

23

(916) 319-2023

(916) 319-2123

Assemblymember.Coto@assembly.ca.gov

Davis, Mike

D

48

(916) 319-2048

(916) 319-2148

Assemblymember.Davis@assembly.ca.gov

De La Torre, Hector

D

50

(916) 319-2050

(916) 319-2150

Assemblymember.DeLaTorre@assembly.ca.gov

de Leon, Kevin

D

45

(916) 319-2045

(916) 319-2145

Assemblymember.deLeon@assembly.ca.gov

DeVore, Chuck

R

70

(916) 319-2070

(916) 319-2170

Assemblymember.DeVore@assembly.ca.gov

Eng, Mike

D

49

(916) 319-2049

(916) 319-2149

Assemblymember.Eng@assembly.ca.gov

Evans, Noreen

D

7

(916) 319-2007

(916) 319-2107

Assemblymember.Evans@assembly.ca.gov

Feuer, Mike

D

42

(916) 319-2042

(916) 319-2142

Assemblymember.Feuer@assembly.ca.gov

Fletcher, Nathan

R

75

(916) 319-2075

(916) 319-2175

Assemblymember.Fletcher@assembly.ca.gov

Fong, Paul

D

22

(916) 319-2022

(916) 319-2122

Assemblymember.Fong@assembly.ca.gov

Fuentes, Felipe

D

39

(916) 319-2039

(916) 319-2139

Assemblymember.Fuentes@assembly.ca.gov

Fuller, Jean

R

32

(916) 319-2032

(916) 319-2132

Assemblymember.Fuller@assembly.ca.gov

Furutani, Warren T.

D

55

(916) 319-2055

(916) 319-2155

Assemblymember.Furutani@assembly.ca.gov

Gaines, Ted

R

4

(916) 319-2004

(916) 319-2104

Assemblymember.Gaines@assembly.ca.gov

Galgiani, Cathleen

D

17

(916) 319-2017

(916) 319-2117

Assemblymember.Galgiani@assembly.ca.gov

Garrick, Martin

R

74

(916) 319-2074

(916) 319-2174

Assemblymember.Garrick@assembly.ca.gov

Gatto, Mike

D

43

(916) 319-2043

(916) 319-2143

Assemblymember.Gatto@assembly.ca.gov

Gilmore, Danny D.

R

30

(916) 319-2030

(916) 319-2130

Assemblymember.Gilmore@assembly.ca.gov

Hagman, Curt

R

60

(916) 319-2060

(916) 319-2160

Assemblymember.Hagman@assembly.ca.gov

Hall, Isadore III

D

52

(916) 319-2052

(916) 319-2152

Assemblymember.Hall@assembly.ca.gov

Harkey, Diane L.

R

73

(916) 319-2073

(916) 319-2173

Assemblymember.Harkey@assembly.ca.gov

Hayashi, Mary

D

18

(916) 319-2018

(916) 319-2118

Assemblymember.Hayashi@assembly.ca.gov

Hernandez, Edward P.

D

57

(916) 319-2057

(916) 319-2157

Assemblymember.Hernandez@assembly.ca.gov

Hill , Jerry

D

19

(916) 319-2019

(916) 319-2119

Assemblymember.Hill@assembly.ca.gov

Huber, Alyson

D

10

(916) 319-2010

(916) 319-2110

Assemblymember.Huber@assembly.ca.gov

Huffman, Jared

D

6

(916) 319-2006

(916) 319-2106

Assemblymember.Huffman@assembly.ca.gov

Jeffries, Kevin

R

66

(916) 319-2066

(916) 319-2166

Assemblymember.Jeffries@assembly.ca.gov

Jones, Dave

D

9

(916) 319-2009

(916) 319-2109

Assemblymember.Jones@assembly.ca.gov

Knight, Steve

R

36

(916) 319-2036

(916) 319-2136

Assemblymember.Knight@assembly.ca.gov

Lieu, Ted W.

D

53

(916) 319-2053

(916) 319-2153

Assemblymember.Lieu@assembly.ca.gov

Logue, Dan

R

3

(916) 319-2003

(916) 319-2103

Assemblymember.Logue@assembly.ca.gov

Lowenthal, Bonnie

D

54

(916) 319-2054

(916) 319-2154

Assemblymember.Lowenthal@assembly.ca.gov

Ma, Fiona

D

12

(916) 319-2012

(916) 319-2112

Assemblymember.Ma@assembly.ca.gov

Mendoza, Tony

D

56

(916) 319-2056

(916) 319-2156

Assemblymember.Mendoza@assembly.ca.gov

Miller, Jeff

R

71

(916) 319-2071

(916) 319-2171

Assemblymember.Miller@assembly.ca.gov

Monning, William W.

D

27

(916) 319-2027

(916) 319-2127

Assemblymember.Monning@assembly.ca.gov

Nava, Pedro

D

35

(916) 319-2035

(916) 319-2135

Assemblymember.Nava@assembly.ca.gov

Nestande, Brian

R

64

(916) 319-2064

(916) 319-2164

Assemblymember.Nestande@assembly.ca.gov

Niello, Roger

R

5

(916) 319-2005

(916) 319-2105

Assemblymember.Niello@assembly.ca.gov

Nielsen, Jim

R

2

(916) 319-2002

(916) 319-2102

Assemblymember.Nielsen@assembly.ca.gov

Norby, Chris

R

72

(916) 319-2072

(916) 319-2172

Assemblymember.Duvall@assembly.ca.gov

Pérez, John A.

D

46

(916) 319-2046

(916) 319-2146

Assemblymember.John.Perez@assembly.ca.gov

Pérez, V. Manuel

D

80

(916) 319-2080

(916) 319-2180

Assemblymember.Manuel.Perez@assembly.ca.gov

Portantino, Anthony J.

D

44

(916) 319-2044

(916) 319-2144

Assemblymember.Portantino@assembly.ca.gov

Ruskin, Ira

D

21

(916) 319-2021

(916) 319-2121

Assemblymember.Ruskin@assembly.ca.gov

Salas, Mary

D

79

(916) 319-2079

(916) 319-2179

Assemblymember.Salas@assembly.ca.gov

Saldaña, Lori

D

76

(916) 319-2076

(916) 319-2176

Assemblymember.Saldana@assembly.ca.gov

Silva, Jim

R

67

(916) 319-2067

(916) 319-2167

Assemblymember.Silva@assembly.ca.gov

Skinner, Nancy

D

14

(916) 319-2014

(916) 319-2114

Assemblymember.Skinner@assembly.ca.gov

Smyth, Cameron

R

38

(916) 319-2038

(916) 319-2138

Assemblymember.Smyth@assembly.ca.gov

Solorio, Jose

D

69

(916) 319-2069

(916) 319-2169

Assemblymember.Solorio@assembly.ca.gov

Strickland, Audra

R

37

(916) 319-2037

(916) 319-2137

Assemblymember.Strickland@assembly.ca.gov

Swanson, Sandre R.

D

16

(916) 319-2016

(916) 319-2116

Assemblymember.Swanson@assembly.ca.gov

Torlakson, Tom

D

11

(916) 319-2011

(916) 319-2111

Assemblymember.Torlakson@assembly.ca.gov

Torres, Norma J.

D

61

(916) 319-2061

(916) 319-2161

Assemblymember.Torres@assembly.ca.gov

Torrico, Alberto

D

20

(916) 319-2020

(916) 319-2120

Assemblymember.Torrico@assembly.ca.gov

Tran, Van

R

68

(916) 319-2068

(916) 319-2168

Assemblymember.Tran@assembly.ca.gov

Villines, Michael N.

R

29

(916) 319-2029

(916) 319-2129

Assemblymember.Villines@assembly.ca.gov

Yamada, Mariko

D

8

(916) 319-2008

(916) 319-2108

Assemblymember.Yamada@assembly.ca.gov

Vacant

 

63

(916) 319-2063

(916) 319-2163

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

=

Appropriations Committee

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Governor

Party

 

Phone

Fax

Email

 

 

 

 

 

 

Arnold Schwartzenegger

R

 

916-445-2841

916-558-3160

 

 

CALIFORNIA SENATE ROSTER

 

 

 

 

 

 

Senator

Party

District

Phone

Fax

Email

 

 

 

 

 

 

Aanestad, Sam

R

4

916-651-4004

916-445-7750

Senator.Aanestad@senate.ca.gov

Alquist, Elaine

D

13

916-651-4013

916-324-0283

Senator.Alquist@senate.ca.gov

Ashburn, Roy

R

18

916-651-4018

916-322-3304

Senator.Ashburn@senate.ca.gov

Calderon, Ron

D

30

916-651-4030

916-327-8755

Senator.Calderon@senate.ca.gov

Cedillo, Gilbert

D

22

916- 651-4022

916-327-8817

 

Cogdill, Dave

R

14

916-651-4014

916-327-3523

Senator.Cogdill@senate.ca.gov

Corbett, Corbett

D

10

916-651-4010

916-327-2433

Senator.Corbett@senate.ca.gov

Correa, Lou

D

34

916-651-4034

916-323-2323

Senator.Correa@senate.ca.gov

Denham, Jeff

R

12

916-651-4012

916-445-0773

Senator.Denham@senate.ca.gov

DeSaulnier, Mark

D

7

916-651-4007

916-445-2527

Senator.DeSaulnier@senate.ca.gov

Dutton, Robert

R

31

916-651-4031

916-327-2272

Senator.Dutton@senate.ca.gov

Emmerson, Bill

R

37

916-651-4037

916-327-2187

Senator.Emmerson@senate.ca.gov

Florez, Dean

D

16

916-651-4016

916-327-5989

Senator.Florez@senate.ca.gov

Hancock, Loni

D

9

916-651-4009

916-327-1997

Senator.Hancock@senate.ca.gov

Harman, Tom

R

35

916-651-4035

916-445-9263

Senator.Harman@senate.ca.gov

Hollingsworth, Dennis

R

36

916-651-4036

916-447-9008

Senator.Hollingsworth@senate.ca.gov

Huff, Bob

R

29

916-651-4029

916-324-0922

Senator.Huff@senate.ca.gov

Kehoe, Christine

D

39

916-651-4039

916-327-2188

Senator.Kehoe@senate.ca.gov

Leno, Mark

D

3

916-651-4003

916-445-4722

Senator.Leno@senate.ca.gov

Liu, Carol

D

21

916-651-4021

916-324-7543

Senator.Liu@senate.ca.gov

Lowenthal, Alan

D

27

916-651-4027

916-327-9113

Senator.Lowenthal@senate.ca.gov

Moreno Ducheny, Denise

D

40

916-651-4040

916-327-3522

Senator.Ducheny@senate.ca.gov

Negrete McLeod, Gloria

D

32

916-651-4032

916-445-0128

Senator.McLeod@senate.ca.gov

Oropeza, Jenny

D

28

916-651-4028

916-323-6056

Senator.Oropeza@senate.ca.gov

Padilla, Alex

D

20

916-651-4020

916-324-6645

Senator.Padilla@senate.ca.gov

Pavley, Fran

D

23

916-651-4023

916-324-4823

Senator.Pavley@senate.ca.gov

Price, Curren

D

26

916-651-4026

916-445-8899

Senator.Price@senate.ca.gov

Romero, Gloria

D

24

916-651-4024

916-445-0485

Senator.Romero@senate.ca.gov

Runner, George

R

17

916-651-4017

916-445-4662

Senator.Runner@senate.ca.gov

Simitian, Joe

D

11

916-651-4011

916-323-4529

Senator.Simitian@senate.ca.gov

Steinberg, Darrell

D

6

916-651-4006

916-323-2263

Senator.Steinberg@senate.ca.gov

Strickland, Tony

R

19

916-651-4019

916-324-7544

Senator.Strickland@senate.ca.gov

Walters, Mimi

R

33

916-651-4033

916-445-9754

Senator.Walters@senate.ca.gov

Wiggins, Patricia

D

2

916-651-4002

916-323-6958

Senator.Wiggins@senate.ca.gov

Wolk, Lois

D

5

916-651-4005

916-323-2304

Senator.Wolk@senate.ca.gov

Wright, Rod

D

25

916-651-4025

916-445-3712

Senator.Wright@senate.ca.gov

Wyland, Mark

R

38

916-651-4038

916-446-7382

Senator.Wyland@senate.ca.gov

Yee, Leland Y.

D

8

916-651-4008

916-327-2186

Senator.Yee@senate.ca.gov

Vacant

 

1

916-651-4001

 

  

Vacant

 

15

916-651-4015

 

  

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

=

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Governor

Party

 

Phone

Fax

Email

 

 

 

 

 

 

Arnold Schwartzenegger

R

 

916-445-2841

916-558-3160

 

NO MORE MANDATORY MUTILATIONS!!!

Hey, you ARs, if animals have rights, wouldn't they have the same constitutionally protected fundamental right to procreate that we humans enjoy?

Go Back

PJ your table is cut off on the right side.



Comment